Google recently introduced the ability for those who have created a page in Google+ of a type other than Local business or place to integrate their Google+ Page with their Google Maps local listing.

Connecting the two together will carry over business hours, reviews, address, and more from Maps to the Google+ page. Please note that the changes are permanent, so be sure that doing this makes sense for your business.

Here’s how to connect them:

  • First, you have to create a separate local Google+ page–verified on Google Maps–for the same business as your page.
  • Log in to Google+, select Pages from the left-hand navigation ribbon, and click Manage this page on the local page.
  • From the top left corner, choose Dashboard > Settings.
  • Scroll to the “Profile” section. Next to “This page is connected to Google Maps”, click Connect a different page.
  • In the “Link a different page to this location” dialog, pick the page that you’d like to connect to Maps and click Next.
  • You’ll see a list describing the changes to the newly-created page you’re connecting to Maps, and the local Google+ page you’re disconnecting from Maps. Click Confirm.

The page that’s newly connected to Maps will:

  • Display the name and verification badge from the former local page.
  • Display the business information (hours, phone number, etc.) and reviews from the former local page.
  • No longer display prior owner responses to local reviews. Your existing reviews may take a few hours to show up after connecting the page.
  • Retain your page’s followers, posts, and managers.
  • Retain the custom URL (if you’ve set one up).
  • Possibly remove ad campaigns associated with the page. To start a new campaign, visit http://www.adwords.google.com/express and follow the step-by-step instructions.

The former local page will:

  • No longer display on Google Maps
  • No longer display local business information or reviews
  • Be renamed to “Backup of <page name>”
  • Still be visible on Google+
  • Retain followers, posts, and managers from the former local page
  • Retain the custom URL from the former local page (if you’ve set one up)
  • No longer display AdWords Express campaigns associated with the page.